My Kids Were Here – January 2014

“These still life images serve as a daily reminder that my days are awash in chaos, whimsy, laughter and laundry (sometimes all at once). They capture toys and spills and puddles and piles. Sentimental, solitary moments of childhood ephemera. A gentle prodding to live in the now and stop looking toward the “then.” And though sometimes I pray for clean and quiet and still, I know all too well it will come. And I will yearn for tiny shrieks of laughter in my bedroom. For toys and loveys strewn about. For signs of a daily life well lived. For traces of my babies who once were. For reminders that Kids Were Here–and they were life and light and love.” – Stephanie Beaty

I am not one with a lot of words but this project has truly captured my heart this past year. I have followed several amazing photographers who are participating in Kids Were Here blog circles. I wished that I could participate in a blog circle too. I worry that my pictures are not good enough and that my editing skills are pretty much non-existent. But the thing is, life is short,  so precious and unpredictable. This is the year that I will capture some of the daily reminders that my kids were here too. Here I am, jumping in…

DSC_0196

Sometimes there is more Lego on our floors than in the bins.

DSC_0239

Sweet boy, I love that you brought your lunchbox to the beach this past weekend. You filled it with snacks for you, your brother and your sister. Then you told me that you are going to take this lunchbox to Kindergarten… It’s all happening too fast.

DSC_0270

Little Man, you love “bars” just like your big brother.

Well,  that’s my first official blog post!  I am excited to document our lives with our 3 children who fill our hearts and make this life so beautiful.

Please follow our “Kids Were Here” blog circle and visit LaShawn. Enjoy! 

6 comments

  1. I, like you, worry about the ” photography” of this project but I think your pictures are wonderful and will be a great reminder to you and to them, as they grow older! Nice work.

    Missy

  2. I love the simplicity! The Lego’s on the floor are a common issues at my house. I am excited to work with you on this project and hope it has the same impact on your as it has me.

  3. I LOL at the snack bar in the shoes. Kids are so funny. My husband was just complaining last night about the legos on the floor and we don’t even have that much yet. I can’t wait to see what you post next month.

  4. Oh my gosh, love your images! The Lego chaos is such a part of little boy chaos. The lunchbox at the beach is so cute. And the colorful kid shoes with snacks inside made me laugh. Perfect post! Tracey

Leave a Reply

